Tri Suit Recommendations

When it comes to tri suit recommendations, I don’t have much to say on the topic.

If you’re looking at particular brands it’s hard to get an unbiased recommendation because most people develop a preference over time. I wear more Pearl Izumi than anything else, but I still have other brands in my closet. There are a few things I think you should look at before purchasing tri clothing:

First, unless you’re doing a sprint or an Olympic, I would not look at singlets. Doing an half or a full takes a long time and peeling yourself out of a singlet to use the toilet on the course won’t be easy. So that’s something you should consider.

Another feature I like having is a partially zipping top. Sometimes I’ll get overheated on the run leg of the race and it helps if I can pull the zipper down to ventilate a little. Just remember when washing anything with a zipper you should pull it up first.

Lastly, I like if there is an option that has some kind of sleeve to it. It’s handy for half and full distances because it’ll provide better protection than sunscreen. You may find that idea sort of restricting for the swim if you’re not used to it, but it’s nothing compared to a sleeved wetsuit.

Also, keep in mind you get what you pay for when it comes to the quality of the product.

 

Leave a Reply

